Office of Global Engagement

Telephone: 706-542-2900

The Office of Global Engagement is proud to announce Dr. David Lee as the winner of the 2021 Richard Reiff Internationalization Award. The Reiff Award honors a tenured or tenure-track faculty member who has made major contributions to the overall internationalization of the University of Georgia. It is given in honor of Dr. Richard Reiff, former executive director of the Office of International Education at the University System of Georgia, former chair of the international committee of the University System of Georgia, and past president of NAFSA/Association of International Educators.

Since 2005, Dr. Lee has served as the Vice President of Research for the University of Georgia and the executive Vice President of the UGA Research Foundation, with an appointment as professor of biochemistry and molecular biology. He has served on multiple boards across the nation and is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The focus of his research has been the transformation of normal cells to cancer cells.

During his tenure as Vice President of Research, Dr. Lee advocated for further development of research centers and study of biomedical sciences, allowing UGA to emerge as a national leader in infectious disease research.

“Along with his strong commitment to the international research enterprise of UGA,” said Noel Fallows, Associate Provost to the Office of Global Engagement, “David has had multiple successes in promoting and advancing global opportunities for both students and faculty.”

On winning the award, Dr. Lee had this to say “I am deeply honored to receive this award, while recognizing that a number of individuals in the research office have contributed significantly to UGA’s international ambitions. Also, Noel has a great team in OGE and it’s been both a privilege and a pleasure to work closely with them. Together, we have enjoyed some important successes, and I believe laid the foundation for future advances.”

Dr. Lee is set to retire in May of this year.